10 Hours of being the "Rapid Prototyping Profit"


VID00333_003
Originally uploaded by Spacexula

Maker Faire NC in Durham was nice enough to let me have a booth at their 1st Maker Fair. I didn’t set up my printer 1 time, each and every time I let a kid (and a few child like adults) do the setup. They did the zeroing, they did the warm up, 2 of the kids did my skeinforging. At the end up the day I added it up and my printer ran for 10 hours straight, with 32 separate prints. 30 kids set it up and 2 adults.

By the end of the day I hadn’t ate in 8 hours, had lost my voice, and was missing most the the parts for my extruder (saw a kid run off with the big gear from Adrian’s extruder, couldn’t blame him really, it’s so steam punk looking)

I did a interview with Spectra magazine, and ran out of Maker bot flyers 4 hours into the faire (I had a stack 4 inches thick!)

The fun part was watching the pride on the kids faces.

About spacexula

RepRap, Newspace, Makerbot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Hours of being the "Rapid Prototyping Profit"

  1. Anonymous says:

    You certainly had non-stop traffic. I had a great time as well in spite of my 'bot being totally borked. thanks for all your good advice, I'll be back in touch again.JC

Leave a Reply

